Naming your tarot business.

How do you choose a name for your tarot business ?

When I first started  out as a professional reader, about ten years ago, I was called ‘Thoughtful Tarot’. It was ok at the time, but it had begun to sound way too old- fashioned after a few years. I changed to ‘Tarot Jane’, just because I couldn’t think of a better name. This was at a time when I was only doing face to face readings, but when I began the online side of things, I discovered that Tarot Jane was already being used by another lady.  I didn’t want to step on her toes, I didn’t want anyone to confuse us with each other, so I had to think of another name.

Elva came about as a name for another business I had some years ago. It’s a made up word, but it is derived from ‘elvine’, which means ‘elven’ or ‘elf- like’.  I like the sound of the word,  the fact that it’s short and uncomplicated, and sounds clean and fresh. It also looks good in a logo.

Many people have said that they like the name, but the truth be told,  I went with it because I’d spent quite a lot of time agonizing over a new name, and eventually went back to Elva because it was already there.

You’ll probably consider names like Moon Tarot, or Star Tarot, but all the obvious ones are already taken, plus all the different spellings of the word ‘tarot’ too. Assuming you will have a website at some point, you need to able to get the ‘dotcom’ domain name. If the dotcom has gone, someone else  is using the name, or someone has bought the domain and will only sell it for a silly amount of money.

If  you want to rebrand yourself after a while,  it is perfectly possible to change, as I ‘ve done, but  it is a pain in the butt to change all your social media, email and business cards, buy a new domain name, change your business name with everyone you deal with, and also inform all your clients. That said, it’s actually much easier than you might think to get your clients to accept a new name. They don’t really care what you’re called, if they already trust your services.

You can go with your own name, or something that is personal to you – the name of a pet or a place, for instance. It must be easily pronounceable with no confusion over the spelling. It’s also good to stick to  four or five  syllables for the whole name, six at the very most. So say you wanted to call it something like Silver Tarot. There are all kinds of ways to spell this. Sylva, Sillva, Syllva, Silvar, etc. But when people hear the word ‘silver’, they already know the usual spelling. You’re just going to confuse them with an alternative spelling, and when people are confused, it does tend to put them off.

These days, any business name has to stand out and be unique, because there are so many names out there that have been done to death. It takes a google search and a few minutes of your time to cancel out potentials that others have already thought of.

Some of the ‘big names’ in tarot on the net have interesting names. You’ve probably heard of  ‘Biddy Tarot’, and Biddy is the lady’s nickname, her real name being Bridget. There’s Beth at ‘Little Red Tarot’, which is a unique and friendly name. Then there’s ‘The Tarot Lady’ – a genius name from Theresa Reed. ‘Tarot in a teacup’ is another one that is wonderful and very unique. A lot of readers call themselves, as I did, ‘Tarot’ followed by their name, so ‘Tarot Sue’, ‘Tarot Louise’, etc, but again, most of these are already taken.

Another aspect of choosing a name is that you must be able to be comfortable saying it, answering the phone with it and promoting it, so it must fit in with your personality and the public face that you wish to show. I’m from the north of England, and I have still a bit of an accent, and I’m a down to earth  kind of person – so calling myself something long and flowery simply would not work for me. I’m comfortable both saying and promoting Elva. I cannot imagine answering the phone and saying, ‘Hello, Goddess Magic Tarot’.

A made -up word is probably best- or an anagram of some kind, or even letters- I did consider JJ Tarot, and JL Tarot, but in the end I wasn’t comfortable with these. I didn’t want to use Jane Jameson Tarot either – somehow it sounds too serious, and doesn’t have the right ring to it for me. Also it is too much of a mouthful to say in an elevator pitch situation.

At the time of writing this, the trend for tarot is less magical and mysterious than it is practical and modern. Gone are the days of Mme Petulengro and lots of silver and purple. These days, the ‘big’ tarot readers go with a clean and modern look for their websites to create a more mainstream appeal. You may not want to do that, but it’s worth at least considering that a website with a black background and a name like ‘Mystic Moon’ will no longer be as popular as it once was.

Think of some possible names and google them. Type in your own name into an anagram generator and see if anything interesting pops up. Think of your favourite flower, crystal, place or pet, animal, etc. Write your chosen possibilities on pieces of paper and pick one at random.  Throw a tarot reading for yourself about it. And also, if you are concerned with such things, check out the numerology of the name you’re thinking of using.

So there you have it – there’s a lot to think about when choosing a name, but it’s worth taking the time to pick something unique that has an up- to- date appeal.  You might end up changing it anyway, like I did, but the main reason for the changes that  I made was that I didn’t think it through in the first place.

This post is taken from my free business start- up course. To sign up for this course, and other free stuff, please visit my website:

http://www.elvatarot.com

Have a lovely day !

Jane Xx

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

